Skip to Content

Chakra Meditation: 7 Techniques for Beginners to Unlock Chakras

Chakra Meditation

Jump to: Benefits | Technique | Tips

Have you heard about the benefits of chakra meditation?

Chakras are the psychic energy-centers of the body. They are the confluence of the pathways through which sacred energy (also called chi or prana) passes.

“Chakra opening” can be a deeply reinvigorating practice. As a quick point of guidance, don’t worry too much about finding the “right” location of the chakras. Your attention will naturally rest in the appropriate place.

Chakra Meditation Benefits

  • The balancing of chakras is associated with the expression of positive qualities: self-esteem, creativity, inner balance, open self-expression, to name just a few.
  • It is a deeply calming and energizing practice.

Chakra Meditation Techniques for Beginners

You can follow these stages in order or pick one out. If you’re in a rush I recommend the heart chakra. The “a” in the mantras is pronounced “ah.” 

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara) (Red)

  1. Concentrate on the flat space between your anus and genitals (the perineum).
  2. Gently chant the mantra Lam.
  3. Repeat as many times as you wish, sensing the vibrations at your chakra-point.
  4. The root chakra is associated with survival. Its corresponding deity is Ganesh.

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana) (Orange)

  1. Concentrate on your lower back (the sacrum) just above your buttocks.
  2. Gently chant the mantra Vam.
  3. The sacral chakra is associated with reproductivity and sexuality. Its corresponding deity is Indra.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) (Yellow)

  1. Concentrate on your solar plexus.
  2. Gently chant the mantra Ram.
  3. The solar plexus chakra is associated with personal power and spiritual growth. Its corresponding deity is Agni.

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata) (Green)

  1. Concentrate on the point between your breasts.
  2. Gently chant the mantra Yam.
  3. The heart chakra is associated with love and inner peace. Its corresponding deity is Vayu.

5. Throat Chakra (Visuddha) (Blue)

  1. Concentrate on the middle area of your throat.
  2. Gently chant the mantra Ham.
  3. The throat chakra is associated with self-expression. Its corresponding deity is Dyaus.

6. Third-Eye Chakra (Ajna) (Indigo)

  1. Concentrate on the your “third eye,” the area between your eyebrows.
  2. Gently chant the mantra Om (ohhhhmmmm). (For specific details on how to pronounce Om visit this page.)
  3. The third-eye chakra is associated with survival. It’s associated deity is Soma.

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) (Violet)

  1. Concentrate on the area just above the crown of your head.
  2. There is no mantra for the crown chakra, it’s expression is silence. Rest in this silence.
  3. The crown chakra is associated with pure consciousness. It’s associated deity is Dhruva.


  • The length time you choose to spend on each chakra is up to you. Find a duration that is comfortable for you.
  • Allow the transitions between chakras to be gentle and fluid. Pay attention to your body
  • When experiencing the physical sensations of the chakras, follow your inclinations. You may feel a small point or a wider area, a warmth or a subtle tingling. All are valid. Don’t over-worry about achieving the “right experience.”
  • The benefits of meditation increase with time – the more you pay attention to each chakra the greater the positive effects will be.
  • This meditation works well as a relaxation practice. Try doing it with relaxing music or candles in beautiful weather. If you’re interested in using candles, read our guide to the best candles for meditation

I hope you enjoyed this guided chakra meditation. You may also find our article on OM Meditation useful. Equally, if you’re using this practice for relaxation, have a loot at some relaxing music and our incense guide.